حدد صفحة

في الشهرين الماضيين ، نشرنا منشورتين في المدونة تتناولان قضايا سلامة الحرم الجامعي. واحد يتعلق بثلاثة وفاة الطلاب الصينيين حول حرم جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا، وكان المنشور الآخر عن رويترز 'إطلاق النار على الكليات الأمريكية أكثر فتكًا وتكرارًا ".

في مقالنا بتاريخ 5 أكتوبر 2016 - "حوادث إطلاق النار في المدارس تزداد فتكًا" - علمنا أن "الإحصائيات تظهر أن حوادث إطلاق النار في الحرم الجامعي في السنوات الخمس الماضية قد زادت بسرعة - فقد تضاعف إطلاق النار في حرم الجامعات. ثلاثة أضعاف عدد الجرحى أو القتلى منذ عام 2005 ".

ليس من المستغرب أن يثير عدد متزايد من الطلاب الدوليين مخاوفهم بشأن سلامة الحرم الجامعي. لقد فكر الكثيرون في شراء أسلحة - وهو أمر لم يكونوا ليفعلوه أبدًا إذا كانوا في بلدانهم الأصلية. ولكن هنا يأتي سؤال -

"هل يمكن للطالب الدولي شراء أسلحة في الولايات المتحدة؟"


يمكن أن تكون الإجابة "نعم" أو "لا". ما عليك سوى إلقاء نظرة على الرد على سؤال شائع على الموقع الإلكتروني للمكتب الأمريكي للكحول والتبغ والأسلحة النارية والمتفجرات:

هل يجوز للأجانب بصورة قانونية في الولايات المتحدة شراء الأسلحة النارية؟

أجنبي أجنبي في الولايات المتحدة لا يحظر شراء الأسلحة النارية ما لم يتم إدخال الأجنبي في الولايات المتحدة بموجب تأشيرة لغير المهاجرين ولا يفي بأحد الاستثناءات المنصوص عليها في 18 USC 922 (y) (2) ، مثل امتلاك رخصة أو تصريح صيد صالح.

[18 USC 922 (d) (5)، (g) (5) and (y) (2)؛ 27 CFR 478.11 و 478.32 (a) (5)]


إذن ، "هل يمكن لطالب دولي شراء سلاح في الولايات المتحدة؟" - الإجابة النهائية هي "نعم ، ولكنها مخصصة فقط لبنادق الصيد وإذا كنت تستوفي الشروط التي ينص عليها القانون". ومع ذلك ، فإن حمل بندقية صيد في الولايات المتحدة كأجنبي يمكن أن يكون انتهاكًا خطيرًا لحالة تأشيرة F-1 القانونية كطالب دولي. إذا لم تتبع قوانين الأسلحة الأمريكية بصرامة ، فقد تواجه خطر الترحيل.

أشار تقرير حديث ، من ويست لافاييت ، إنديانا ، على الطلاب الدوليين الذين يسعون للحصول على تراخيص مسدسات إلى عائق آخر:

في إنديانا الصديقة للسلاح ، يجد الطلاب الأجانب أن الترخيص ليس سهلاً

يرجى ملاحظة أن West Lafayette ، إنديانا هي موطن جامعة بوردو التي تستضيف الطلاب الأجانب في 10,000.  

في الولايات المتحدة ، يعد امتلاك سلاح أو بندقية لقضاء وقت الفراغ أو للدفاع عن النفس حقًا طالما أنه لا يسبب أي مشكلات تتعلق بالسلامة العامة. (قضايا السلامة العامة؟ الأمر متروك للشرطة ، وليس أنت ، لتقرير الإجابة.) يمكنك الحصول على بندقية صيد ولكن هل يستحق الأمر كل المشاكل قبل امتلاكها وخطر الترحيل المحتمل؟ أخيرًا ، فكر في الطريقة التي ستتعامل بها مع البندقية (الأسلحة) قبل مغادرة الولايات المتحدة بعد التخرج. ربما تعوض الحركات التي ستواجهها بالفعل كل متعة الصيد. لماذا تهتم؟

Select Page

In the last two months, we published two blog posts dealing with campus safety issues.  One is regarding three Chinese students’ deaths around University of Southern California’s campus, and the other post was about Reuters’s  ‘Shootings at U.S. colleges deadlier and more frequent.”

In our article dated Oct. 5 of 2016 – ‘School Shootings are Getting Deadlier’ – we learned “the statistics show campus shootings in the past five years have increased rapidly – Shootings on college campuses have doubled. Three times as many people were injured or killed since 2005.”

Not surprisingly, a growing number of international students have raised their concerns about campus safety.   Many have considered buying guns – something that they would have never done if they were in their home countries.   But here comes a question –

“Can an International Student Buy Guns in the U.S.?”


The answer can be “YES” or “NO.”   Just take a look at the reply to a common question on the website of the U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives:

May aliens legally in the United States purchase firearms?

An alien legally in the U.S. is not prohibited from purchasing firearms unless the alien is admitted into the U.S. under nonimmigrant visa and does not meet one of the exceptions as provided in 18 U.S.C. 922(y)(2), such as possession of a valid hunting license or permit.

[18 U.S.C. 922 (d)(5), (g)(5) and (y)(2); 27 CFR 478.11 and 478.32(a)(5) ]


So “Can an international student buy a gun in the U.S.?” – The ultimate answer is “YES, but it is only for hunting rifles and if you meet the conditions described by law.”  However, carrying a hunting rifle in the United States as a foreigner can be a serious violation of your legal F-1 visa status as an international student.   If you don’t follow the U.S. gun laws strictly, you may face the risk of being deported.

A recent report, from West Lafayette, Indiana, on international students seeking for handgun licenses pointed out another obstacle:

In gun-friendly Indiana, international students find licensing isn’t easy

Please note that West Lafayette, Indiana is the home of Purdue University which hosts about 10,000 international students.  

In the United States, owning a gun or rifle for leisure or self-defense is a right as long as it does not cause any public safety issues. (Public Safety Issues? It is up to the police, not YOU, to decide the answer.)  You can have a hunting rifle but is it worth all the troubles before owning it and the risk of possible deportation?  Finally, think how you are going to handle the gun(s) before you leave the United States after graduation.   Maybe the hessles you will encounter already offset all the fun of hunting.  Why bother?