حدد صفحة

تم اقتباس النقاط التالية من مقال بعنوان "ما مدى أهمية تلك التصنيفات الكلية؟"تم نشره بواسطة www.theintelligencer.com. نود أن نشارك قرائنا هذه المقالة الممتازة والخالدة بعد أن حصلنا على إذن من المؤلف الدكتور Aldemaro Romero لنشرها على موقعنا.

(المؤلف: الدكتور Aldemaro Romero الابن ، رسائل من الأكاديمية)

نحن مقتطفات بعض النقاط الحاسمة من المقال للرجوع اليها.

  1. لكي نفهم حقاً كيف تعمل هذه التصنيفات ، نحتاج إلى النظر في أمرين: كيفية جمع البيانات وما يتم قياسه.
  2. تقدم الكليات والجامعات بياناتها طواعية بعد تلقي مسح سنوي. من هنا تبدأ المشاكل. بادئ ذي بدء ، كانت هناك حالات قدمت فيها بعض الكليات والجامعات بيانات خاطئة فقط لتحسين تصنيفاتها.
  3. منذ التسعينيات ، قاطعت العديد من المؤسسات جهود تصنيف US News و World Report برفضها تقديم البيانات. من بين المؤسسات التي قاطعت هذه العملية كليات الفنون الحرة المرموقة مثل جامعة ستانفورد. ما يقولون هو أن تلك التصنيفات مضللة.
  4. وتستند التصنيفات أيضا على استطلاعات الرأي لأعضاء هيئة التدريس بالجامعة والإداريين الذين لا ينتمون إلى المدارس التي يجري تصنيفها.
  5. كان هناك أيضًا تحرك بين العديد من المؤسسات لعدم المشاركة في "استطلاع السمعة" هذا الذي يزن 25 بالمائة في التصنيف لأنه يُنظر إليه على أنه "مسابقات جمال" وذاتية للغاية.
  6. يعد اختيار الكلية اختيارًا شخصيًا للغاية ولا يرتبط بالضرورة بجودة التعليم المقدم. تلعب عوامل مثل التكلفة ، والتعرف على الاسم ، والحجم ، والموقع ، وما شابه ذلك دورًا رئيسيًا في تلك القرارات وليس لها علاقة كبيرة بهذه الترتيبات.
  7. مشكلة أساسية أخرى مع هذه التصنيفات هي أنها تخلق الوهم بأنها مقياس عادل لجودة التعليم. في الواقع ، تكافح الكليات والجامعات في قياس جودة التعليم الذي تقدمه.
  8. هناك مشكلة أخرى تتمثل في أن إحدى طرق الارتقاء في هذا التصنيف تتمثل في إنفاق المزيد من الأموال في المجالات التي لا علاقة لها بالأنشطة الأكاديمية للمؤسسة. بعبارة أخرى ، يمكنك "شراء" طريقك للوصول إلى التصنيف العالمي دون تحسين جودة التعليم المقدم بشكل فعال.
  9. الأرقام الأخرى المستخدمة لترتيب هذه المؤسسات ، مثل حجم الأوقاف أو إنتاجية بحوث أعضاء هيئة التدريس ، هي في الغالب أيضًا غير ذات صلة بجودة التعليم.
  10. على الرغم من أن هذه التصنيفات تقيس السمعة ومتوسط ​​درجات اختبار SAT للدخول إلى الطلاب ، والتي لا تذكر الكثير عن جودة التعليم أو مدى تعلم الطلاب عند مقارنتهم بالمدارس الأخرى.
  11. نحن نرى المزيد والمزيد من المؤسسات العامة تقاس بالعوامل المهمة للسياسيين ، مثل معدلات الالتحاق والتخرج ، والتي يمكن أن تكون حساسة للغاية لعامل خارج عن سيطرة تلك المؤسسات ، والاقتصاد المحلي أو الإقليمي.
  12. فلماذا ، على الرغم من كل هذه العيوب ، هناك الكثير من الشهرة لهذه التصنيفات؟ سيقول العديد من رؤساء الجامعات علنًا إنهم يؤمنون بها جزئيًا بسبب ضغط الأمناء والخريجين وأعضاء هيئة التدريس. حتى أن بعض مجالس الأمناء تقدم مكافآت للرؤساء إذا قاموا بزيادة تصنيف المؤسسة.

الدكتور Aldemaro Romero Jr. هو كاتب وأستاذ جامعي يتمتع بخبرة قيادية في التعليم العالي. يمكن الاتصال به من خلال موقعه على الإنترنت على http://www.aromerojr.net

Select Page

The following points are excerpted from an article titled “How important are those college rankings?” published by www.theintelligencer.com.  We would like to share with our readers this excellent and timeless article after we got permission from the author Dr. Aldemaro Romero to publish it on our site.

(Author: Dr. Aldemaro Romero Jr., Letters from Academia)

We excerpted some crucial points from the article for your reference.

  1. To really understand how those rankings work, we need to consider two things: how data is collected and what it is being measured.
  2. Colleges and universities voluntarily submit their data after receiving an annual survey.   That is where the problems start.  To begin with there have been instances in which some colleges and universities have submitted false data just to improve their rankings.
  3. Since the 1990s several institutions have boycotted U.S. News and World Report ranking efforts by refusing to submit data.  Among the institutions boycotting this process are both prestigious liberal arts colleges such as Stanford University.  What they say is that those rankings are misleading.
  4. The rankings are also based upon opinion surveys of university faculty members and administrators who do not belong to the schools being ranked.
  5. There has also been a move among many institutions not to participate in this “reputation survey” which weighs 25 percent in the rankings because they are seen as “beauty contests” and highly subjective.
  6. The choice of college is a very personal one that does not necessarily relate to the quality of the education being offered.  Factors such as cost, name recognition, size, location and the like play a major role in those decisions and they have very little to do with those ranking.
  7. Another fundamental problem with those rankings is that they create the illusion that they are a fair measure of educational quality.   In fact, colleges and universities struggle themselves in measuring the quality of instruction they provide.
  8. Another issue is that one way to move up in those ranking is by just spending more money in areas that have little to do with the academic activities of the institution.  In other words, you can “buy” your way up into the rankings without effectively improving the quality of education being provided.
  9. Other figures used to rank these institutions, such as the size of endowments or faculty research productivity, are also mostly irrelevant to the quality of instruction.
  10. Although these rankings measure reputation and average SAT scores of entering students, which says little about the quality of instruction or how much students will learn when compared with other schools.
  11. We are seeing more and more public institutions being measured by factors important to politicians, such as enrollment and graduation rates, which can be very sensitive to factor beyond the control of those institutions, and the local or regional economy.
  12. So why, despite all these shortcomings, is there so much notoriety for these rankings?   Many university presidents will say publicly that they believe in them in part due to pressure from trustees, alumni and faculty members.  Some boards of trustees even offer bonuses to presidents if they increase the institution’s rankings.

Dr. Aldemaro Romero Jr. is a writer and college professor with leadership experience in higher education.  He can be contacted through his website at http://www.aromerojr.net