حدد صفحة

الطلاب الأجانب الذين يتخصصون في STEM (Science، Tتكنولوجية، Engineering، Mيسمح لهم بالعمل لمدة تصل إلى ثلاث سنوات في الولايات المتحدة بعد التخرج من كلية أو جامعة أمريكية.

في الأصل ، أي الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة  يسمح برنامج (تدريب عملي اختياري) للطلاب الأجانب بالعمل لمدة عام واحد فقط بعد التخرج. ومع ذلك ، تم تمديد الفرصة لمدة عامين إضافيين لطلاب STEM الأجانب.

وفقًا لـ Forbes ، "تدرس إدارة ترامب إلغاء اللائحة الخاصة بـ STEM OPT (أو التدريب العملي الاختياري)." هذا مجرد مثال آخر على محاولة دونالد ترامب تفكيك برنامج فعال آخر تم تنفيذه في ظل إدارة أوباما.

هل ترامب أحد أكثر الرؤساء الذين لا يحبونه في تاريخ الولايات المتحدة؟

مع الأخذ في الاعتبار أداء الرئيس دونالد ترامب حتى الآن ، من المفهوم تمامًا سبب كرهه في جميع أنحاء العالم. وفقًا لاستطلاع أجرته مؤسسة Pew Research في يونيو من هذا العام ، فإن صورة أمريكا الممزقة بالفعل قد عانت أكثر في ظل قيادة ترامب المزعومة.

صدر سياسات غير شعبية على نحو غير مسبوق حسب الأمر التنفيذي ، مع عدم وجود اعتبار واضح للعواقب ، يجعلون أمريكا موضوع الكراهية مرة أخرى.

الحظر الذي لا يمكن تصوره للاجئين السوريين إلى الولايات المتحدة ، وحظر السفر وتعليق التأشيرات الصادر في بلدان مختلفة (باستثناء الأماكن التي يمارس فيها ترامب أعمالًا خاصة) ، وتعطيل برنامج تأشيرة H-1 B ، والآن يقترح حظره لخريجي STEM الأجانب الذين يعملون في الولايات المتحدة تؤدي فقط إلى نتائج عكسية لمصالح الولايات المتحدة في أحسن الأحوال. [/ vc_column_text] [vc_message message_box_color = ”blue” icon_fontawesome = ”fa fa-bomb”] هدف ترامب التالي: الأجانب العاملون الجادون والمتعلمون جيدًا [/ vc_message] [vc_column_text] مقال بعنوان "هل الطلاب الدوليون التاليون في القائمة؟ " المنشور في 15 أكتوبر 2017 ، من قبل مجلة فوربس ، يقترح أنه "بعد إنهاء الحماية القانونية للمهاجرين الشباب ، وتجاهل رواد الأعمال المهاجرين ، والتظاهر ضد أزواج H-1 B" ، فإن هدف ترامب التالي هو الطلاب الأجانب.

موقف ترامب من الطلاب الدوليين

ما هو التأثير المحتمل لقيود العمل المقترحة حديثًا على القدرة التنافسية الأمريكية؟ فيما يلي ملاحظاتنا:

  1. بادئ ذي بدء ، تعتمد المجالات المتعلقة بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات بشكل كبير على قدرة الفرد الأساسية على أداء المهام العلمية والرياضية المتقدمة. هذا يطرح السؤال ، هل الطلاب المولودين في الولايات المتحدة - والقوى العاملة المستقبلية - قادرون على التنافس مع نظرائهم المولودين في الخارج؟
  2. وفقًا  التقييم الوطني للتقدم التربوي (NAEP: التقييم داخل الولايات المتحدة فقط) تشير السجلات من 2007 و 2009 و 2011 و 2013 و 2015 إلى أن أقل من 27٪ من طلاب الصف الثامن الأمريكيين بارعون بما يكفي للتنافس مع طلاب مشابهين حول العالم (المصدر: NAEP Data Explorer).
  3. عند مقارنتها بطلاب يبلغون من العمر 15 عامًا (الصف العاشر) في جميع أنحاء العالم ، فإن أداء الطلاب الأمريكيين أقل من المتوسط ​​إلى المتوسط ​​في أحسن الأحوال في الرياضيات والعلوم وقدرات فهم القراءة في  البرنامج الدولي لتقييم الطلبة (PISA) ، والتي تعد واحدة من أكبر التجارب عبر الوطنية.

 

من بين الدول الخمس التي حققت أعلى درجات اختبار العلوم ما يلي:

# 1 سنغافورة (556) ، # 2 اليابان (538) ، # 3 إستونيا (534) ، # 4 تايوان (532) ، و # 5 فنلندا (531). ومع ذلك ، احتلت الولايات المتحدة المرتبة رقم 24 بمتوسط ​​درجات 496.

خمسة بلدان سجلت أعلى درجات في الرياضيات تشمل:

# 1 سنغافورة (564) ، # 2 هونغ كونغ (548) ، # 3 ماكو (544) ، # 4 تايوان (542) ، و # 5 اليابان (532). مرة أخرى ، كان أداء الولايات المتحدة ضعيفًا ، واحتلت المرتبة رقم 38 بمتوسط ​​درجات 470. وهذا أقل بكثير من متوسط ​​النقاط العالمي البالغ 490.

 

بالنسبة إلى فهم القراءة باللغة الإنجليزية ، قد يفترض المرء أن الأميركيين سيحققون نتائج جيدة. ومع ذلك ، هنا ، مرة أخرى ، كان أداء الطلاب الأمريكيين ضعيفًا. في الواقع ، لم يفعل الطلاب الأمريكيون أفضل من الطلاب التايوانيين ، الذين لغتهم الرئيسية هي التايوانية والصينية الماندرين. بلغ متوسط ​​عدد الطلاب من تايوان والولايات المتحدة 497 درجة. وهذا أعلى بـ 4 نقاط فقط من متوسط ​​الدرجة في العالم البالغ 493.

المقاطعات الخمسة الأولى التي احتلت المرتبة الأولى في فهم القراءة باللغة الإنجليزية هي سنغافورة رقم 5 (1) ورقم 535 هونغ كونغ (2) ورقم 527 كندا (3) ورقم 527 فنلندا (4) ورقم 526 أيرلندا (5).

احتلت الولايات المتحدة المرتبة #23 ، مرتبطة مع تايوان.

هل يمكن للأمريكيين أداء أفضل في الوظائف المتعلقة بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات من الطلاب الأجانب؟ نعتقد أن الجواب واضح.

Select Page

Foreign students majoring in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) are allowed to work for up to three years in the United States upon graduation from an American college or university.

Originally, any OPT  (Optional Practical Training) program only allowed foreign students to work for one year after graduation.  However, the opportunity was extended for an additional two years for foreign STEM students.

According to Forbes, “Trump administration is considering eliminating the regulation on STEM OPT (or Optional Practical Training).”    This is just another example of Donald Trump’s attempt at dismantling another effective program implemented under the Obama administration.

Is Trump One of the Most Disliked Presidents in U.S History?

Taking into account President Donald Trump’s performance thus far, it’s quite understandable why he is so disliked worldwide.   According to a Pew Research poll released in June of this year, America’s already tattered image has suffered even more under Trump’s so-called leadership.

Unpopular policies issued unsparingly by Executive Order, with no obvious consideration of consequences, are making American the object of hate again.

The unthinkable banning of Syrian refugees to the U.S., travel bans and visa suspensions issued upon various countries (except for where trump does private business), holdups in the H-1 B visa program, and now his proposed ban of foreign STEM graduates working in the U.S.A. is only counterproductive to U.S. interests at best. [/vc_column_text][vc_message message_box_color=”blue” icon_fontawesome=”fa fa-bomb”]Trump’s Next Target:  The Well Educated, Hard Working Foreigners[/vc_message][vc_column_text]An article entitled “Are International Students Next on the Menu?” published on Oct. 15, 2017, by Forbes Magazine, suggests that “after ending legal protections for young immigrants, snubbing immigrant entrepreneurs, and posturing against H-1 B spouses,” Trump’s next target is international students.

Trump’s Stance on International Students

What impact might these newly proposed work restrictions have on American competitiveness?    Below are our observations:

  1. To begin with, STEM-related fields rely heavily on one’s fundamental ability to perform advanced scientific and mathematical tasks.  This begs the question, are American born students – and future workforce – capable of competing with their foreign-born counterparts?
  2. According to the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP: assessment within the U.S. only) records from 2007, 2009, 2011, 2013, and 2015, indicate that less than 27% of American 8th graders are proficient enough to compete with similar students around the world (source: NAEP Data Explorer).
  3. When compared with 15-year-old (10th-grade) students across the globe,  U.S. students perform below average to mediocre at best in math, science, and reading comprehension abilities in  Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA), which is one of the biggest cross-national tests.

 

Five countries with the highest science test scores in order are:

#1 Singapore (556), #2 Japan (538), #3 Estonia (534), #4 Taiwan (532), and #5 Finland (531). The United States, however, ranked at #24 with an average score of 496.

Five countries that scored highest in mathematics include:

#1 Singapore (564), #2 Hong Kong (548), #3 Maco (544), #4 Taiwan (542), and #5 Japan (532).    Once again, the United State performed poorly, and ranked #38 with an average score of 470.    This is well below the world average score of 490.

 

As for English reading comprehension, one might assume that Americans would do well. However, here, once again the U.S. students performed poorly. In fact, American students did no better than Taiwanese students, whose major languages are Taiwanese and Mandarin Chinese.   Students from Taiwan and the U.S.A. both averaged a score 497. This is only 4 points above the world’s average score of 493.

The top 5 territories that placed best in English reading comprehension are #1 Singapore (535), #2 Hong Kong (527), #3 Canada (527), #4 Finland (526), and #5 Ireland (521).

The United States ranked #23, tied with Taiwan.

Can Americans do better on STEM-related jobs than foreign students?  We think the answer is obvious.