حدد صفحة

منذ أن تم التوقيع على قانون باتريوت المزعوم من قبل الرئيس الأمريكي آنذاك جورج دبليو بوش ، أدت الهستيريا الأمريكية في حقبة ما بعد 911 إلى تآكل مستمر لحرياتنا المدنية إلى جانب قائمة متزايدة من التدخلات الحكومية لخصوصيتنا الشخصية. جاء ذلك وفقًا لتقرير نشرته مجلة فوربس بتاريخ 28 أبريل 2017.

هاتفك النقال  - التي يستخدمها الكثير منا للوصول إلى التفاصيل الأكثر حساسية وشخصية في حياتنا في شكل رقمي -  يخضع لفحص ومراقبة مسؤولي الجمارك الأمريكيين في كل مرة تدخل فيها الولايات المتحدة.

يمكن تخزين الشبكات الاجتماعية وجهات الاتصال التجارية والصور والمستندات القانونية والتاريخ المالي والسجلات الطبية والألعاب والتطبيقات أو الوصول إليها من خلال هاتفك الخلوي. ولكن ماذا يحدث إذا طلبت منك الجمارك الأمريكية ، بصفتك شخصًا بريئًا ، فتح هاتفك الذكي (ويعرف أيضًا باسم حياتك) حتى يتمكنوا من "فحص" ما كان محميًا من قبل التعديل الرابع؟

بصرف النظر عن الأمل في أن يتذوق أولئك الذين صاغوا هذا التشريع وأقروه طعم الأدوية الخاصة بهم ذات يوم ، فلا يوجد الكثير مما يمكنك فعله حيال ذلك. ومع ذلك ، يمكنك تجهيز هاتفك من الفحص الجائر عن طريق تسجيل الخروج من جميع تطبيقاتك قبل الدخول إلى الجمارك الأمريكية.

حقوقك- ليس من المفترض أن يطلب منك ضباط الجمارك الأمريكيون كلمات المرور لأي من تطبيقاتك ، وأنت لست ملزمًا بتزويدهم بهذه المعلومات.  ومع ذلك، إذا كانت تطبيقاتك مفتوحة وتعمل عند تسليم هاتفك ، فيمكنه الاطلاع على أي شيء يريده.

فيما يلي بعض القصص المثيرة للقلق التي نوقشت في تقرير فوربس:

قصتنا من الكندي الشاب

يريد هذا الضحية أن يسمى "أندريه" بدلاً من اسمه الحقيقي للخوف منه انتقام. قال إن أعوان الجمارك الأمريكية في مطار فانكوفر طلب منه فتح هاتفه الخلوي.

قال أندريه لوسائل الإعلام: "لم أكن أعرف ماذا أفعل". "كنت خائفة ، لذلك أعطيته كلمة المرور."

ثم اكتشف وكيل الجمارك الأمريكية تطبيقات André للمواعدة الجنسية وبدأت الأمور تتدهور بشكل حلزوني بالنسبة له. قرر وكيل الجمارك بالفعل أن أندريه كان مرافقًا ذكرًا يبحث عن عمل في الولايات المتحدة ، وبالتالي تم رفض دخوله إلى الولايات المتحدة.

(ملاحظة: مرافقة الذكر هو رجل يتم دفعه لممارسة الجنس معه.)

بعد أسبوع ، عاد أندريه إلى المطار بحسابه المصرفي ورسالة من صاحب العمل يثبت أنه مصمم ديكور في فانكوفر ، كولومبيا البريطانية. لخيبة أمله ، تم رفض دخوله مرة أخرى. وفقًا لأندريه ، استنتجت الجمارك الأمريكية أن قراره بحذف الكثير من المعلومات الأصلية من هاتفه قبل محاولته عبور الحدود هذه المرة جعله يبدو مريبًا.

لكن هذه المرة أصبحت الجمارك الأمريكية أكثر توغلاً وطالبت بإلقاء نظرة على ملفات الكمبيوتر الخاصة به. لم يقتصر الأمر على قيام عناصر الحدود بتمزيق صوره الشخصية وإخضاعه لاستجواب مهين ، بل خسر أيضًا 1,200 دولار لأن رسوم الطيران والفندق لم تكن قابلة للاسترداد.

قصص ثلاثة أمريكيين

لا يخضع السائحون لفحص مستمر فحسب ، بل إن الأمريكيين يشعرون أيضًا بالضغط. ذكرت NBC News: "صدرت أوامر لعدد من المواطنين الأمريكيين بفتح هواتفهم المحمولة وأجهزة الكمبيوتر الخاصة بهم ، خاصة إذا كانوا من أصول مسلمة". تقارير NBC News "مواطنون أمريكيون: لنا وكلاء الحدود يمكن البحث في الهاتف المحمول الخاص بك"

  • أمريكا #1:
    تعرض صانع أفلام من نيويورك يبلغ من العمر 23 عامًا للاختناق على يد وكيل وكالة الجمارك وحماية الحدود بينما أمسك آخر بهاتفه بعد أن احتج على تسليم هاتفه الخلوي للمرة الثانية. (ملاحظة: CBP هي الجمارك وحماية الحدود الأمريكية)

 

  • أمريكا #2:
    كان المواطن الأمريكي المولود في مصر مقيد اليدين واحتجز لمدة أربع ساعات قبل أن يوافق على تسليم هاتفه الخلوي.

 

  • أمريكا #3:
    يروي عالم ناسا الشاب العائد إلى الولايات المتحدة من إجازة في تشيلي مشاكل مماثلة. تعرض سيد بيكانافار ، وهو أمريكي مولود بالفطرة من أصل هندي شرقي ، للتهديد بالاعتقال ما لم يقم بتسليم هاتفه المحمول وكلمة المرور الخاصة بهما. هذا على الرغم من حقيقة ذلك
    يقسم موظفو ناسا على حماية المعلومات السرية. جادل بيكانافار لبعض الوقت قبل الاستسلام أخيرًا ، وتزويد ضباط الجمارك الأمريكيين بكلمة المرور لهاتف ناسا.

كيف ومتى بدأت التفتيش على الهاتف الخليوي والضبط

تم وضع سياسات التفتيش على الهواتف المحمولة والاستيلاء عليها لأول مرة في ظل إدارة الرئيس جورج دبليو بوش بعد 911. ومع ذلك ، اقتصرت هذه السياسة إلى حد كبير على أفراد معينين إلى أن أعطت إدارة أوباما حرية أكبر لمسؤولي الجمارك الأمريكية لتطبيق هذه السياسة على أي شخص.

خلية الهاتف الخليوي يمكن أن يحدث لك

وفقًا لتقرير NBC ، زادت عمليات ضبط الهواتف المحمولة في المطارات والحدود من 8,503 في عام 2015 إلى أكثر من 19,000 في عام 2016.

بعض نصائح السفر الموصى بها من قبل الخبراء

  1. سافر فقط بالمعلومات التي تحتاجها: تأكد من عدم احتواء هاتفك الذكي أو جهاز الكمبيوتر على معلومات حساسة أو خاصة. يمكنك أيضًا تشفير بياناتك الخاصة وإرسالها إلى نفسك مسبقًا.
  2. أوقف تشغيل جهازك ، وسجل الخروج من التطبيقات الخاصة قبل المرور بالأمان.
  3. تخزين البيانات والصور الحساسة في السحاب.
  4. اعرف حقوقك.
  5. النظر في شراء تأمين السفر: لذلك إذا لم تتمكن من اللحاق برحلتك ، أو تسجيل الوصول في الفندق في الوقت المحدد ، فلا يجوز لك استرداد أموالك إذا كان لديهم سياسة عدم استرداد. يمكن أن يساعد تأمين السفر المناسب في منع ذلك.

Select Page

Ever since the so-called Patriot Act was signed into law by then US President George W. Bush,  American hysteria in post 911 era has led to a continued erosion of our civil liberties along a growing list of government intrusions to our personal privacy.    This is according to a report by Forbes Magazine published on April 28, 2017.

Your cell phone  – which many of us use access the most sensitive and personal details of our lives in digital form –  is subject to examination and seizure by U.S. customs officials each and every time you enter the United States.

Your social networks, business contacts, photos, legal documents, financial history, medical records, games, and apps can be stored or accessed through your cell phone.  But what happens if you, an innocent person, are asked by U.S. Customs to unlock your smartphone (a.k.a. your life) so they can “examine” what was once protected by the 4th amendment?

Aside from hoping that those who drafted and passed this legislation get a taste of their own medicine one day, there isn’t much you can do about it.  You can, however, prepare your phone from invasive inspection by signing out from all your apps before entering U.S. Customs.

Your RightsU.S. Customs officers are not supposed to ask you for the passwords to any of your apps, and you are under no obligation to provide them this information.  However, if your apps are open and running when you hand over your phone, they can look at anything they want.

Here are a few stories, of concern discussed in this Forbes’ report:

Story of a Young Canadian

This victim wants to be called “André” instead of his real name for the fear of retaliation.  He said a U.S. Customs agents at the Vancouver airport asked him to unlock his cell phone.

“I didn’t know what to do,”  André told the media. “I was scared, so I gave him the password.”

The U.S. Customs agent then discovered André’s gay dating apps and things started to go down spirally for him.  The Customs agent already made up his mind that André was a male escort looking for business in the U.S.   His entry to the U.S., therefore, was denied.

(Note: A male escort is a man who is paid to have sex with.)

A week later, André returned to the airport with his bank account and a letter from his employer proving that he was a set decorator in Vancouver, BC.   To his disappointment, he was rejected for entry again.  According to André ,  US Customs reasoned that his decision to delete much of the original information from his phone before attempting to cross the border this time made him look suspicious.

But this time US Customs became even more invasive and demanded to take a look at his computer files.   Not only did these border agents tear through his personal photos and subject him to a humiliating interrogation, but he also lost $1,200 because his flight and hotel charges were nonrefundable.

Stories of Three Americans

Not only are tourists subjected constant scrutiny, but Americans are also feeling the pressure.  NBC News reported: “A number of American citizens are being ordered to unlock their cell phones and computers, especially if they are of Muslim descent.”    NBC News reports “American Citizens: U.S. Border Agents Can Search Your Cellphone

  • American #1:
    One 23-year-old New York filmmaker was choked by a CBP agent while another grabbed his phone after he protested having to hand over his cell phone for the second time.  (Note: CBP is U.S.Customs and Boarder Protection)

 

  • American #2:
    Naturalized U.S. citizen born in Egypt was handcuffed and held for four hours before he agreed to hand over his cell phone.

 

  • American #3:
    A young NASA scientist returning to the U.S. from vacation in Chile tells of similar problems.  Sidd Bikkannavar, a natural born American of East Indian descent, was threatened with detention unless he turned over his NASA-issued cell phone and password. This is in spite of the fact that
    NASA employees are sworn to protect classified information. Bikkannavar argued for some time before finally giving in,  and providing U.S. Customs officers with the password to NASA’s phone.

How and When Cell Phone Inspections and Seizure Began

Cell Phone Inspections and Seizure policies were first instituted under the post 911 President George W. Bush administration.   However, this policy was largely limited to certain individuals until the Obama administration gave even more latitude to US Customs officials to apply this policy to anyone.

Cell Phone Seizure Can Happen to You

According to an NBC’s report, cell phone seizures at airports and borders have increased from 8,503 in  2015 to more than 19,000 in 2016.

Some Traveling Tips Recommended by Experts

  1. Travel with only the information you need: make sure your smartphone or computer contains no sensitive or private information. You also can encrypt your private data and send it to yourself in advance.
  2. Switch off your device, and sign out from private apps before going through security.
  3. Store sensitive data and photos in the cloud.
  4. Know your rights.
  5. Consider buying travel insurance: so if you can not catch your flight, or check into your hotel on time, you may not recoup your money if they have a no refund policy.  The proper travel insurance can help prevent this.