حدد صفحة

مقال نشر مؤخرا في المحيط الأطلسي بعنوان "الجامعات الأمريكية مدمنة على الطلاب الصينيين" reالمنافذ التي تم طرد الطلاب 8,000 المقدرة من الصين من الكليات الأمريكية في السنة الأكاديمية 2013-14.

 

الغش الأكاديمي يضر بنزاهة المدرسة

هذه أخبار سيئة للبلديات الأمريكية المتضررة. بافتراض أن كل طالب صيني ينفق 30,000 ألف دولار فقط سنويًا في أمريكا لتغطية نفقات دراسته أو معيشته ، وهذا يعني خسارة 240 مليون دولار في الإيرادات كل عام. لكن من وجهة نظري ، من الجيد أن أرى أن بعض المدارس الأمريكية تتخذ أخيرًا إجراءات بشأن مشكلة تم تجاهلها لسنوات.

بصفتي تايوانيًا يدرس في الولايات المتحدة في منتصف الثمانينيات ، كان معظم زملائي الصينيين وأصدقائي من أسر فقيرة أو ليست ميسورة الحال. لكنهم كانوا الأفضل بين الأفضل. كانت الرسوم الدراسية باهظة الثمن ، وقد حصل معظمهم على منح دراسية ورواتب جعلت متابعة دراساتهم ممكنة. كانوا جميعًا أفرادًا مجتهدين يتمتعون بقدرات أكاديمية ممتازة.

فعل بعضهم ما فعلته كطالب دراسات عليا دولي في الولايات المتحدة. لقد عملنا 40 ساعة في الأسبوع أو أكثر لدعم أنفسنا أثناء حمل دورة كاملة. سأل قليل (إن وجد منا) والدينا عن عشرة سنتات. لقد غسلنا الأطباق في كافتيريات المدارس ، وعملنا في المطاعم الصينية ، ومربيات الأطفال ، ودرسنا ، وفعلنا ما بوسعنا من أجل تحقيق أحلامنا. لقد حملنا أنفسنا بالشرف والنزاهة. لقد فعلنا كل هذا بينما نفي بمسؤولياتنا البحثية لأساتذتنا.

لا أقترح عدم وجود طلاب صينيين يدرسون حاليًا في الولايات المتحدة في ظروف مماثلة. لكن التدفق الأخير من الطلاب الصينيين الأثرياء يلقي بظلاله على إنجازات أسلافهم.

يعرف الكبار المحبون مدى صعوبة عدم الانغماس في طفل. لكن سياسة الطفل الواحد في الصين إلى جانب ثروتها المكتسبة حديثًا جعلت هذه المهمة أكثر صعوبة. من خلال اعتراف الصين نفسها ، تدرك الحكومة خطورة عدم كفاءة هذا الجيل ، وتشير إليهم في وسائل الإعلام على أنهم "أباطرة صغار".

المال محادثات أعلى من أي شيء؟

وفقًا لتقرير أتلانتيك ، يدفع 60٪ من الطلاب الصينيين الرسوم الدراسية كاملة في الكليات والجامعات الأمريكية ، ومعظمهم من عائلات ثرية. ويمضي التقرير ليشير إلى أن "بعض المدارس الأمريكية - مثل جامعة بيرديو في إنديانا - تحقق أرباحًا أكبر من خلال فرض رسوم إضافية على الطلاب الدوليين". يعد الطلاب الصينيون الآن مصدرًا رئيسيًا للدخل للعديد من الكليات والجامعات الأمريكية ، فضلاً عن الشركات المملوكة محليًا والتي تلبي الآن هذه الفئة السكانية. باستثناء الحي الصيني المتخصص ، لم يكن هذا معروفًا عندما كنت طالبة دراسات عليا في الثمانينيات.

 

الغش الأكاديمي يجب ألا يتم التسامح

يتميز نظام التعليم العالي الأمريكي بكونه يحتل المرتبة الأولى في العالم من قبل U21 منذ عام 2012. ولكن إذا كانت المدارس الأمريكية تتوقع الحفاظ على هذا التصنيف المرموق ، فسيتعين عليهم البدء في تنظيف المنزل. التجنيد بأي ثمن ، مثل الغش ، أمر غير مقبول. السؤال هو كم عدد المدارس الأمريكية الملتزمة حقًا باكتشاف الاحتيال (مثل النصوص المزيفة) بقدر التزامها بتلقي مدفوعات التعليم؟ دعونا لا ننسى أن الولايات المتحدة هي مجرد جزء واحد من مجتمع التعليم الدولي. هناك الكثير من الأقاليم الأخرى بما في ذلك أستراليا والمملكة المتحدة التي تعمل جاهدة لتجاوز مركزنا المطلوب.

(المؤلف: تانيا جراي ، المؤسس المشارك لـ Access Education، LLC. المحرر: T. Gray)

Select Page

An article recently published in The Atlantic entitled “American Universities Are Addicted to Chinese Students” reports that an estimated 8,000 students from China were expelled from U.S. colleges in the 2013-14 academic year.

 

Academic Cheating Hurts a School’s Integrity

That’s bad news for the affected U.S. municipalities. Assuming each Chinese student spends only $30,000 per year in America for his or her tuition and living expenses, that amounts to a 240 million dollars loss of revenue each year. But from my perspective, it’s nice to see that some U.S. schools are finally taking action on a problem that has been ignored for years.

As a Taiwanese studying in the U.S. in the mid-1980s, most of my Chinese classmates and friends were from poor or not so well-to-do families. But they were the best of the best. Tuition was unaffordable, and most were awarded scholarships and stipends that made pursuing their studies possible. They were all hardworking individuals with excellent academic abilities.

Some of them did what I did as an international graduate student in the U.S. We worked 40 hours a week or more to support ourselves while carrying a full course load. Few (if any of us) asked our parents for a dime. We washed dishes in the school cafeterias, worked in Chinese restaurants, babysat, tutored, and did whatever we could to get by in pursuit of our dreams. We carried ourselves with honor and integrity. We did all this while fulfilling our research responsibilities for our professors.

I am not suggesting there are no Chinese students currently studying in the U.S. under similar circumstances. But the recent influx of wealthy Chinese students has cast a shadow over the accomplishments of their predecessors.

Loving adults know how difficult it is to not indulge a child. But China’s One-Child policy combined with its new-found wealth has made this task even more daunting. By China’s own admission, the government recognizes the seriousness of this generation’s ineptitude, commonly referring to them in the media as “little emperors”.

Money Talks Louder than Anything?

According to the Atlantic’s report, 60% of Chinese students pay full tuition at America’s colleges and universities, and most of them are from wealthy families. The report goes on to state that  “some U.S. schools—such as Purdue University in Indiana—profit further by charging additional fees for international students.” Chinese students are now a major source of income for many U.S. colleges, universities, as well as the locally owned businesses that now cater to this demographic. With the exception of niche “Chinatowns”, this was unheard of when I was a graduate student in the 1980’s.

 

Academic Cheating Should not be Tolerated

The American higher education system has the distinction of being ranked number one in the world by U21 since 2012. But if U.S. schools expect to maintain this prestigious ranking, they will have to start cleaning house. Recruiting at all costs, like cheating, is unacceptable. The question is how many U.S. schools are as genuinely committed to detecting fraud (E.g. fake transcripts) as they are to receiving tuition payments? Let’s not forget that the United States is just one part of the international education community. There are plenty of other territories including Australia and the UK that are working hard to overtake our coveted position.

(Author: Tanya Gray, co-founder of Access Education, LLC. Editor: T. Gray)