Select Page

On September 24, 2017, U.S. President Donald Trump signed a proclamation that will replace his expiring travel ban with a new one that is even more restrictive.  In February 2017, Trump first issued the travel ban on seven Muslim-majority countries including Iraq, Syria, Iran, Libya, Sudan, Somalia, and Yemen.   This time, Chad, North Korea, and Venezuela were added to the ban. However, both Iraq and Sudan were removed from the list.

Countries Impacted by Trump’s New Travel Ban

These new restrictions will go effect on October 18, 2017, and it will impact citizens of these eight countries:

  • Chad
  • Iran
  • Libya
  • North Korea
  • Somalia
  • Syria
  • Yemen
  • Venezuela

The suspension of non-immigrant visas for Venezuelan citizens only applies to certain government officials and their immediate families.

Related blog posts: