حدد صفحة

خلال حملته الانتخابية ، صرح الرئيس الأمريكي المنتخب ، دونالد ترامب ، أن تكلفة التعليم الجامعي تهمه. ويقترح أن إحدى الطرق للحفاظ على تحمل تكاليف التعليم العالي تتمثل في وضع حد أقصى لسداد قروض الطلاب بحد أقصى 12.5٪ من الدخل السنوي للمقترض. يعتقد أولئك الذين يؤيدون هذه الفكرة أن هذا النهج ، إلى جانب المقترحات الأخرى التي تنظر فيها وزارة التعليم الأمريكية ، قد يساعد في عكس خمس سنوات من تراجع الالتحاق الأمريكي. الأمل في أن تسمح هذه الخطة أيضًا لخريجي الجامعات بمزيد من الدخل التقديري والادخار للدفعات المقدمة على المشتريات الرئيسية مثل السيارات والمنازل.

هل مخاوف الطلاب الدوليين مشروعة؟

يخشى العديد من الطلاب الدوليين من أن فوز ترامب قد منح شرعية زائفة لتحيزات أمريكا البيضاء والخوف من المهاجرين. يقول العديد من الطلاب الأجانب الملتحقين ببعض من أفضل الكليات في الولايات المتحدة إنهم كانوا سيذهبون إلى المملكة المتحدة أو كندا لو توقعوا نتيجة هذه الانتخابات. وغني عن القول أن خطاب السيد ترامب لا يساعد في جذب الطلاب الدوليين بحثًا عن تعليم جيد في بيئة آمنة ومرحبة.

أثار تحيز ترامب المتصور ضد الهجرة مخاوف من أن فرص التدريب العملي قد لا تكون متاحة بسهولة للطلاب الدوليين ؛ لدرجة أن البعض لم يعد يكلف نفسه عناء التقدم للحصول على تدريب عملي مرتبط بدراساتهم. لهذا السبب ، نتوقع أن طلبات الحصول على تأشيرة OPT (التدريب العملي الاختياري) وتأشيرات العمل H1 ستبدأ في اتجاه هبوطي ما لم وحتى تتم معالجة هذه المخاوف والتخفيف منها بشكل صحيح.

ذكرت صحيفة تايمز للتعليم العالي أن "مشاهدات صفحة قوائم كندا من الأكاديميين الأمريكيين قفزت 17 ضعفًا في يوم نتائج الانتخابات (9 نوفمبر) مقارنة باليوم نفسه من الأسبوع السابق (2 نوفمبر)". كما أشار رئيس جامعة تورنتو إلى أن موقع مدرسته على شبكة الإنترنت كان لديه 10 أضعاف حركة المرور من أجهزة الكمبيوتر في الولايات المتحدة في اليوم التالي للانتخابات عما كانت عليه في اليوم السابق.

التحرك إلى الأمام

يشير أحد الاستطلاعات التي أجريت قبل الانتخابات الرئاسية لعام 2016 إلى أن 60 في المائة من الطلاب الدوليين المحتملين كانوا أقل احتمالا لحضور الكليات الأمريكية إذا تم انتخاب ترامب رئيسا. إذا كانت هذه المعلومات صحيحة وصحيحة ، فقد تصورنا سيناريوهين محتملين.

أولاً ، قد يطلب "الوكلاء" في بلدان مختلفة عمولات أعلى من المدارس الأمريكية التي تعتمد بشكل كبير على "خدمتهم" في تحقيق إيراداتها. يتم دفع هذه العمولة ، بالطبع ، بشكل غير مباشر للوكيل من قبل الطلاب عبر المدرسة بعد دفع الرسوم الدراسية. هذا بالإضافة إلى الرسوم التي دفعها الطلاب بالفعل للوكيل مقابل "إيجاد" هذه المدرسة لهم. في تجربتنا ، رأينا أن هذه الرسوم تتراوح ما بين 1,000.00،25,000.00 دولار أمريكي إلى XNUMX،XNUMX دولار أمريكي.

يمكن لهؤلاء العملاء أيضًا "طلب" التزام المدارس الأمريكية باعتباراتها السياسية. هذا ليس بعيد المنال بالنظر إلى تركيز أمريكا المفرط حاليًا على الصواب السياسي. على سبيل المثال ، لم تعد بعض المدارس الخاصة تعرض العلم الأمريكي. بل إن البعض ذهب إلى حد حظر الاحتفالات ذات الطابع الأمريكي في الحرم الجامعي خوفًا من الإساءة إلى مجموعات معينة من الناس.

سواء كنت تتفق مع هذه التحركات أم لا ، فإن الموضوعات المثيرة للجدل تتطلب منتدى مفتوحًا حيث لا يتم خنق حرية التعبير في الحرم الجامعي من قبل الحكومة ، أو المصالح الاقتصادية التي تخدم مصالحها الذاتية ، أو الأفراد المتشددون "المناسبون سياسيًا" الذين يمارسون التمييز ضد الآخرين ولكن على العكس من ذلك يتوقعون أن تتم معاملتهم مع الاحترام.

ثانيًا ، نتوقع انخفاض الطلبات المقدمة من الطلاب الأجانب بشكل كبير. ونتيجة لذلك ، قد تخفض المدارس الأمريكية معاييرها و / أو تزيد معدلات القبول "سراً" لمراعاة النقص حتى أنها قد لا تعلن ذلك بشكل ملائم. هذا ينطبق بشكل خاص على المدارس التي لم يتم تصميم استراتيجيات التسويق الداخلي الخاصة بها بشكل خاص للمنافسة في الأسواق الدولية المتنوعة.

 ما هي الخطوة التالية؟

بالنظر إلى القيادة الفاشلة للإدارتين الرئاسيتين الأخيرتين في الولايات المتحدة ، فإن الوعد الذي قدمه شخص خارجي من واشنطن في المكتب البيضاوي قد أثار إعجاب جانبي الممر. كان لا بد أن يفوز أحد المرشحين غير التقليديين على الرغم مما تمليه وسائل الإعلام المؤسسية. من المؤكد أن رئاسة دونالد ترامب ستكون راديكالية.

Select Page

Throughout his campaign, U.S. President-Elect, Donald Trump, has stated that the cost of a college education concerns him.  He suggests that one way to keep higher education affordable is to cap student loan repayments at a maximum of 12.5% of the borrower’s annual income.  Those in favor of this idea believe that this approach, along with other proposals being considered by the U.S. Department of Education, may help reverse five years of declining American enrollment. The hope that this plan will also allow college graduates more discretionary income and to save for down payments on major purchases such as cars and homes.

Are International Students’ Fears Legitimate?

Many international students fear that Trump’s victory has granted false legitimacy to white America’s prejudices, and fear of immigrants. Several foreign students attending some of the best colleges in the United States say they would have gone to the U.K. or Canada had they have foreseen the outcome of this election.  Needless to say, Mr. Trump’s rhetoric is not helping attract international students in search of a quality education in a safe and welcoming environment.

Trump’s perceived anti-immigration bias has also sparked fears that internships and practical training opportunities may no longer be so readily available to international students; so much so, that some no longer bother to apply for practical training associated with their studies. For this reason, we project that applications for OPT (Optional Practical Training) and H1 working visas will begin on a downward trend unless and until these fears are properly addressed and alleviated.

The Times Higher Education states that “views of the Canada listings page from US academics jumped 17-fold on the day of the election results (9 November) compared with the same day the week before (2 November).”   The President of the University of Toronto also noted that his school’s website had 10 times more traffic from computers in the U.S. the day after the election than they did the day before.

Moving Forward

One survey conducted before the 2016 presidential election suggests that 60 percent of prospective international were less likely to attend American colleges if Trump were elected President.   If this is information is correct and holds true, we visioned two possible scenarios.

Firstly, “agents” in various countries may demand higher commissions from U.S. schools that are heavily dependent upon their “service” for their revenue.  This commission, of course, is indirectly paid to the agent by students via the school after they have paid their tuition. This is in addition to the fees students have already paid the agent for “finding” this school for them.  In our experience have seen these fees range anywhere from USD $1,000.00 to $25,000.00.

These agents could also conceivably “request” U.S. schools adhere to their political considerations. This is not so far-fetched considering America’s current overemphasis on political correctness.  For example, some private schools no longer display the American flag. And some have even gone so far as to ban USA-themed celebrations on campus for fear of offending particular groups of people.

Whether you agree or not with these moves, controversial topics demand an open forum where free speech on campus is not stifled by the government, self-serving economic interests, or “politically correct” militant individuals who discriminate against others yet conversely expect to be treated with respect.

Secondly,  we expect applications from foreign students to drop significantly.  As a result, U.S.schools may lower their standards and/or “covertly” increase acceptance rates to account for the shortfall even they may not state this convenient openly. This is particularly true for schools whose in-house marketing strategies are not specifically designed to compete in diverse international markets.

 What’s Next?

Considering the bungled leadership of the last two U.S. Presidential administrations, the promise of a Washington outsider in the Oval Office appealed to both sides of the aisle. One unconventional candidate was bound to win despite what corporate media had dictated.   Donald Trump’s presidency will certainly be a radical one.