حدد صفحة

مع تزايد أعداد الطلاب الآسيويين القادمين إلى الولايات المتحدة ، من المفيد التعرف على عاداتهم من أجل إجراء محادثات ممتعة.

قد تبدو بعض الثقافات الآسيوية غريبة في البداية ، ولكن يرجى ملاحظة أن الطلاب الآسيويين قد يفكرون في ثقافاتك بنفس الشيء! حاول أن تكون منفتح الذهن وتقبل عاداتهم حتى لو كان ذلك يعني أنه عليك الخروج من منطقة الراحة الخاصة بك.

أمثلة على الاختلافات الثقافية

من الطبيعي أن تقول "شكرًا لك" لأي شخص لديه أدنى إحساس بالمجاملة. هذا هو السبب في أن معظم الأمريكيين قد لا يفهمون أبدًا كيف يمكن أن تعني عبارة "شكرًا" إهانة في الثقافات الأخرى مثل ثقافة الهند.

مؤخرًا ، أشار موقع Atlantic.com إلى ما يفكر فيه الهنود بشأن قول "شكرًا لك". المقالة التي تحمل عنوان "لم أشكر والدي أبدًا على أي شيء" والتي أشارت بشكل مثير للاهتمام إلى أن قول "شكرًا لك" يمكن أن يكون شيئًا تعلمه الهندي بعد انتقاله إلى الولايات المتحدة

في الهندية ، "الإيماءات والثقافة اليومية ، هناك فهم غير معلن للامتنان ،" وفقًا للمقال. بمعنى آخر ، ليست هناك حاجة لقول "شكرًا" لشخص ما لأنه تم التعبير عن الامتنان بالفعل. إذا قلت "شكرًا لك" إلى هندي ، فقد يعتقد هذا الشخص أنك لست صديقًا مقربًا.

لقد رأيت المزيد من الأمريكيين يتعلمون فن عيدان تناول الطعام حتى لو كانوا يستخدمون الشوك طوال حياتهم. ومع ذلك ، لا يعرف الكثير من الأمريكيين كيفية استخدام عيدان تناول الطعام بشكل صحيح ، ولا داعي للقول بمعرفة مجاملة استخدام عيدان تناول الطعام أمام اللغة الصينية. يشبه إلى حد كبير إتقان فن آداب الطعام الغربي ، هناك الكثير من الأخلاق التي تتماشى مع الأواني.

هل تعلم أنه عندما تتناول الطعام الصيني ، لا يجب أن تضع عيدان تناول الطعام في وعاء الأرز؟ قد يعتبر العديد من الصينيين ذلك بمثابة لفتة مسيئة لأنه يدل على أنك تعبد الموتى على المائدة.

عندما يتعلق الأمر باقتراض المال ، فإن ثقافتي مختلفة في التعبير عن احتياجاتهم. في الصين وتايوان ، عندما نرغب في اقتراض أموال من شخص ما ، قد نوضح سبب رغبتنا في اقتراض المال أولاً ، ثم نذكر "أريد اقتراض بعض المال منك" لاحقًا. أنا أؤمن بأمريكا ، العكس هو الصحيح.

الاختلافات الثقافية بين الأمريكيين والآسيويين

في الولايات المتحدة ، يميل الناس إلى التحدث عما يدور في أذهانهم ويكونون منفتحين تمامًا بشأن تعبيراتهم. تلعب الفردية دورًا مهمًا في الحياة الاجتماعية الأمريكية حيث يتم تشجيع التعبير عن آرائك الشخصية. على العكس من ذلك ، فإن الناس في آسيا يقدمون آرائهم بطريقة خفية ويميلون إلى الاحتفاظ بالأشياء لتجنب النزاعات. يركز الآسيويون أكثر على خلق السلام في المجتمع بدلاً من المواجهة والتسبب في الاضطرابات.

إنه عالم رائع للعيش فيه بتنوع غني بالألوان. يمكن أن تشعر أنها صغيرة بمساعدة التكنولوجيا ، ومع ذلك لا يزال هناك الكثير لمعرفة المزيد عن الاختلافات الثقافية.

(تم التعديل بواسطة E. Grey ، فريق التسويق عبر الإنترنت لـ الوصول التعليم ، ذ م م)

Select Page

With the increasing numbers of Asian students coming to the U.S., it is beneficial to familiarize yourself with their customs in order to carry out pleasant conversations.

Some Asian cultures may seem odd at first, but please note that Asian students may think the same about your cultures!  Try to be open-minded and accept their customs even if it means you have to step out of your comfort zone.

Examples of Cultural Differences

“Thank You” is natural to say for anyone who has the slightest sense of courtesy.  This is why most Americans may never understand how “Thank You” could mean an insult in other cultures such as that of India’s.

Recently, The Atlantic.com pointed out what Indians think about saying “Thank You.”    The article titled “I’ve never thanked my parents for anything” which interestingly indicated that saying “Thank You” could be a learned thing for an Indian after he or she moves to the U.S.

In Hindi, “Everyday gestures and culture, there is an unspoken understanding of gratitude,” according to the article.    In other words, there is no need to say “Thank You” to someone because gratitude has already been expressed.  If you say “Thank You” to an Indian, that individual may think that you are not a close friend.

I have seen more Americans learning the art of chopsticks even if they might have been using forks all their lives. However, not many Americans know how to use chopsticks correctly, needless to say knowing the courtesy of using chopsticks in front of Chinese.  Much like mastering the art of western dining etiquette, there are plenty of manners that go with the utensils.

Did you know that when you are eating with Chinese, you should never stick the chopsticks in the rice bowl?  Many Chinese would consider that as an offensive gesture because it signifies that you are worshiping the dead at the table.

When it comes to borrowing money, my culture is different about expressing their needs. In China and Taiwan, when we want to borrow money from someone, we may explain why we want to borrow money first, and then mention “I want to borrow some money from you” later.     I believe in America, it is the other way around.

Cultural Differences Between Americans and Asians

In the U.S., people tend to speak what’s on their minds and are quite open about their expressions. Individualism plays an important role in the American social life where voicing your personal opinions is encouraged.   On the contrary, people in Asia deliver their opinions in a subtle way and tend to hold things in to avoid conflicts.    Asians focus more on creating the peace of society instead of confronting and causing turmoils.

It is a great world to live in with colorful diversity. It can feel small with the help of technology, yet there’s still so much to learn about our cultural differences.

(Edited by E. Gray, Online Marketing Staff of Access Education, LLC)