حدد صفحة

في حين أن العديد من الكليات الأمريكية تتوقع انخفاضًا في الالتحاق الدولي هذا الخريف ، فإن وزارة الأمن الداخلي (DHS) تدرس اقتراحًا لن يؤدي إلا إلى تفاقم الوضع أكثر. إذا تم تمرير هذا الاقتراح ، فسيكون هناك 18 شهرًا قبل أن تدخل هذه اللوائح حيز التنفيذ.

 قال موقع Inside Higher Ed في 11 تموز (يوليو) 2017 ، إنه "يُطلب من الطلاب الدوليين إعادة تقديم طلب للحصول على إذن للإقامة في الولايات المتحدة كل عام".

الغرض من هذا الاقتراح

وفقًا لمقولة Inside Higher Ed لمتحدث باسم وزارة الأمن الداخلي ، "تستكشف وزارة الأمن الداخلي مجموعة متنوعة من التدابير التي من شأنها ضمان أن برامج الهجرة لدينا - بما في ذلك برامج الطلاب الدوليين الذين يدرسون في الولايات المتحدة - تعمل بطريقة تعزز المصلحة الوطنية ، وتعزز الأمن والسلامة العامة ، ويضمن سلامة نظام الهجرة لدينا ". أو بعبارة أخرى ، إنها مجرد فكرة أخرى لترامب تتمثل في "جعل أمريكا عظيمة مرة أخرى!"

القضايا المحتملة والمخاوف

إذا تم تنفيذ هذا الاقتراح ، فقد ينخفض ​​عدد الطلاب الأجانب الذين يزورون الولايات المتحدة في المستقبل. لن تثبط مثل هذه الأخبار الطلاب الدوليين المهتمين بالدراسة في الولايات المتحدة. سيزيد هذا الاقتراح الجديد فقط من خطر عدم تمكنهم من إكمال متطلبات درجتهم (بالنظر إلى إمكانية رفض تمديد التأشيرة) في أي وقت بعد التسجيل. من سيقبل هذه الصفقة؟

قيادة المدارس الصغيرة لإغلاق

يساهم طلاب الجامعات الدولية بأكثر من 32.8 مليار دولار في الاقتصاد الأمريكي كل عام. سيضر اقتراح ترامب الجديد للحصول على تأشيرة طالب بالعديد من الكليات الخاصة الصغيرة التي تكافح من أجل البقاء.

لمزيد من التفاصيل حول أحدث اقتراح لوزارة الأمن الداخلي بشأن تغيير لوائح التأشيرات ، يرجى زيارة صفحة Inside High Ed: "سيتطلب الاقتراح من الطلاب الدوليين إعادة تقديم طلب للحصول على إذن بالبقاء."

Select Page

While many U.S. colleges expect lower international enrollment this fall, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is considering a proposal that will only serve to aggravate the situation further.  Should this proposal pass, it will be 18 months before these regulations take effect.

 It is “to require international students to reapply for permission to stay in the United States every year, ” said Inside Higher Ed on July 11, 2017.

The Purpose of This Proposal

According to Inside Higher Ed’s quote of a DHS spokesman, “DHS is exploring a variety of measures that would ensure that our immigration programs — including programs for international students studying in the United States — operate in a manner that promotes the national interest, enhances national security and public safety, and ensures the integrity of our immigration system.” Or, in other words, it’s just another Trump’s idea of “Making America Great Again!.”

Potential Issues and Concerns

If this proposal is implemented, the number of foreign students visiting the United States may decline in the future.   International students who are interested in studying in the U.S. will only be discouraged by such news.   This new proposal will only increase their risk of not being able to complete their degree requirements (given the possibility of denial for the visa extension) any time after enrolling.  Who would accept this deal?

Leading Small Schools to Close

International college students contribute more than 32.8 billion dollars to the U.S. economy each year.   Trump’s new proposal for the student visa will hurt many small private colleges which have been struggling to survive.

For further details on the DHS’s latest proposal on changing visa regulations, please visit Inside Higher Ed’s page: “Proposal Would Require International Students to Reapply for Permission to Stay.”