حدد صفحة

يستند منشور المدونة هذا إلى تقرير من شركة كوارتز ميديا: "يُظهر بحث جديد من سيتأذى - ويساعد - إذا لم تستطع صناعة التكنولوجيا الأمريكية توظيف أفضل المواهب في العالم" ، نُشر في 15 فبراير 2017


لم يتم التقليل من أهمية عدم اليقين بشأن برنامج H-1B الذي جلبته سياسة الهجرة الجديدة للرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب. تهديدات ترامب ل إصلاح برنامج H-1 Bهو أكبر برنامج تأشيرة لتوظيف مهاجرين ذوي مهارات عالية للعمل في الولايات المتحدة وفقًا لتقرير كوارتز:

تم منح تأشيرة H-1B ، التي تم إنشاؤها لخريجي الجامعات ذوي المعرفة في مجال متخصص للغاية ، لأول مرة 1990. تزامن تأسيسها مع صعود الإنترنت ، الذي أرسل حاجة أمريكا لعلماء الكمبيوتر المهرة صعودًا هائلاً. اليوم ، برنامج H-1B جزء لا يتجزأ من صناعة التكنولوجيا: حوالي النصف ل أكثر من 120,000 (pdf) تم منح تأشيرات H1-B التي تمنحها الولايات المتحدة في 2014 لمن يعملون في علوم الكمبيوتر.

ذكرت كوارتز دراسة واحدة بعنوان "عمال STEM ، H-1B تأشيرات والإنتاجية في مدن الولايات المتحدة " وجدت أن "ما بين 10٪ و 25٪ من إجمالي نمو الإنتاجية في الولايات المتحدة بين عامي 1990 و 2010 جاء من عمال أجانب في العلوم والتكنولوجيا ، وكثير منهم على H-1Bs."

من المفهوم لماذا تحدثت Google و Amazon و Apple والعديد من شركات التكنولوجيا الفائقة الأخرى في الولايات المتحدة ضد حظر الهجرة الجديد الذي فرضه ترامب. يعتمد نمو تلك الشركات ذات الأسماء الكبيرة بشكل كبير على الموظفين أو العمال الذين يحملون تأشيرة H-1B.   يقول كوارتز: "لكن لا يربح الجميع من البرنامج". ها هي الحقيقة:

أحد الأبحاث المنشورة حديثًا من قبل الاقتصاديين جون باوند ، غوراف خانا ، ونيكولاس موراليس من جامعة ميشيغان وكشف أنه على الرغم من أن برنامج H-1B is مساهم رئيسي إلى النمو الاقتصادي في الولايات المتحدة ، وهو أمر سيئ للغاية لعلماء الكمبيوتر المحلي.

ما الطريقة التي أضر بها برنامج تأشيرة العمل H-1B المتخصصين الأمريكيين في مجال التكنولوجيا الفائقة؟ يشير الكوارتز إلى ما يلي:

استنادًا إلى بيانات من 1994 إلى 2001 ، يقدر الباحثون أنه من دون برنامج H-1B ، كانت أجور علماء الكمبيوتر الأمريكيين ستكون 3٪ إلى 5٪ أعلى في 2001 ، وكان توظيف الأمريكيين في علوم الكمبيوتر 6٪ 11٪ أعلى. كما وجدوا أن برنامج H-1B بشكل عام يجعل خريجي الكليات أسوأ حالاً ، بينما يساعدون الخريجين غير الجامعيين من خلال منحهم إمكانية الوصول إلى تكنولوجيا أرخص.

انقر هنا إذا كنت ترغب في قراءة مقالة كوارتز الأصلية الكاملة.

Select Page

This blog post is based on a report from Quartz Media: “New research shows who will be hurt—and helped—if America’s tech industry can’t hire the world’s best talent,” published on Feb. 15, 2017


The uncertainty to H-1B program brought by U.S. President Donald Trump’s new immigration policy has never been underemphasized.  Trump threats to overhaul the H-1 B program, the largest visa program for hiring high-skilled immigrants to work in the U.S.   According to Quartz’s report:

The H-1B visa, created for college graduates with knowledge in a highly specialized field, was first granted 1990. Its establishment coincided with the rise of the internet, which sent America’s need for skilled computer scientists skyrocketing. Today, the H-1B program is integral to the tech industry: About half of the more than 120,000 (pdf) H1-B visas granted by the US in 2014 went to those working in computer science.

Quartz stated one study titled “STEM workers, H-1B Visas and Productivity in U.S. Cities” found that “between 10% and 25% of all productivity growth in the U.S. between 1990 and 2010 came from foreign workers in science and technology, many of who are on H-1Bs.”

It is understandable why Google, Amazon, Apple and many other U.S.-based worldwide famous high-tech companies have spoken against Trump’s new immigration ban.  The growth of those big name companies depends heavily on staff or workers on H-1B visa.   “But not everyone wins from the program,” says Quartz.  Here is the fact:

One recently published research by economists John Bound, Gaurav Khanna, and Nicolas Morales of the University of Michigan revealed that, although the H-1B program is a major contributor to US economic growth, it’s quite bad for domestic computer scientists.

In what way has H-1B working visa program been hurting American high-tech professionals?  Quartz indicates the following:

Based on data from 1994 to 2001, the researchers estimate that without the H-1B program, the wages of American computer scientists would have been 3% to 5% higher in 2001, and Americans’ employment in computer science would have been 6% to 11% higher. They also find that, in general, the H-1B program makes college graduates worse off, while helping non-college graduates by giving them access to cheaper technology.

Click HERE if you want to read Quartz’s full original article.